"The Jazz Composers Workshop album, originally released on Savoy in 1956, is made up of two sessions-recorded on 31 October 1954 (side A and tracks 5 & 6 on side B), and 30 January 1955 (tracks 1-4 on side B)-that were part of Mingus influential "Jazz Composers Workshop", a forum intended to give young jazz composers the opportunity to play and record their own compositions. The 1954 session-a sextet line-up featuring Charles Mingus (bass), John La Porta (clarinet & alto sax), Teo Macero (tenor & baritone sax), George Barrow (tenor & baritone sax), Mal Waldron (piano) and Rudy Nichols (drums)-was made up entirely of Mingus originals, with the exception of the 1925 standard "Tea For Two". Mingus "Body & Soul", found here, did not appear on the original LP. The 1955 date-a quartet session led by pianist Wally Cirillo, and featuring Mingus on bass, tenor-saxophonist Teo Macero, and drummer Kenny Clarke-was actually intended as a showcase for four compositions by Cirillo, and featured one of the first, if not THE first, jazz composition to be based on a 12-tone row, "Transeason"." (label info)
soon in stock - please pre-order | IT| 2013| DOXY | 18.90

Go back