"Miscontinuum Album is the third installment in Jan St. Werner's Fiepblatter Catalogue series and features contributions from Dylan Carlson (Earth), Markus Popp (Oval), Taigen Kawabe (Bo Ningen) and Kathy Alberici. Beside his work as one half of Mouse on Mars Jan St. Werner has previously released solo material as Lithops and with Oval's Markus Popp as the duo Microstoria. The central concept of Miscontinuum explores misconceptions of time and memory, inspired by unique acoustic phenomena derived digital phasing and musical time stretching techniques. There is aura of doom that pervades the work. Much of the album's evocative nature comes from the interplay of Werner's electronics with Alberici and Kawabe's voices and the contrast between those organic and inorganic elements. Popp, a longtime collaborator with Werner in Microstoria, wrote the libretti, which is presented in five distinct scenes and recited redolently by Carlson. The surreal plot involves a progressive distinction of time as a force rather than a structuring system, and an individual who can shift consciously between states within that force. Miscontinuum was first performed as a part of Werner's Asymmetric Studio series in Munich featuring video by Werner & Karl Kliem and stage design by Christina del Yelmo & Sonia Gomez Villar. The performance was also broadcast by Bayerischer Rundfunk public radio." (label info) Deluxe 2LP version features expanded artwork with each LP in its own jacket and three bonus tracks not on the CD edition, comes with download code
in stock | US| 2015| THRILL JOCKEY | 22.90

Go back