"The second full-length album from Rashomon (aka Guapo founding member Matt Thompson) follows 2007's The Ruined Map (Film Music Volume 1). Inspired by John Krish's scaremongering public information broadcast The Finishing Line (1977), the record is a sonic re-imagining of the film as a haunted meditation on the power of memory, drawing the listener into a claustrophobic sense of unease and mounting horror. An amalgam of library music, 1970s prog soundtracks, musique concrete and spectral jazz, the music of Rashomon is by turns creepy, terrifying, artless then all the way back to creepy again. This instalment in the ongoing Film Music series is a continuation and reassessment of the ideas expressed on The Ruined Map, applying filmic techniques to music to express the discontinuities of forward-thinking narrative cinema. Instrumentation: Mellotron, MiniMoog, guitar, percussion, organ, Fender Rhodes, bass, vocal, sinewaves, bowed psaltery, zither, violin, vinyl." (label info)
in stock | CH| 2009| HINTERZIMMER | 13.90

Go back